4, 448, 446 views

104, 112 Likes   2, 105 Dislikes

Doctor Mike On Diets: Intermittent Fasting | Diet Review
Doctor Mike

Doctor Mike

Published on 4 years ago



Hey guys! I've seen over and over questions and comments regarding dieting so I decided to start a series where I conduct a diet review in detail. I know many of you want to lose weight and there are many videos on weight loss out there. But I want to give you an honest doctor's take on fasting or time restricted eating.

I kicked off the series with the very popular, intermittent fasting or time-restricted eating. It's claim to fame is that helps burn belly fat/ lose your belly and it does so through fast weight loss. But is fast weight loss even healthy?

Anyway, I could go into more detail covering the smallest intricacies of the diet but I did not want to weigh down the video, both literally and figuratively. Please let me know if this is too little, too much, or just the right amount of information about intermittent fasting.

Also, I want you to remember that diets are not all about weight loss but more importantly about eating healthy. I sincerely hope you enjoy, and definitely let me know if you want more videos like this by giving it a like and a share.

Subscribe HERE ▶ https://goo.gl/87kYq6

Let’s connect:

IG https://goo.gl/41ZS7w
Twitter https://goo.gl/kzmGs5
Facebook https://goo.gl/QH4nJS

Contact Email: [email protected]

P.O. Box:
340 W 42nd St # 2695
NY, NY 10108

Music by Ryan Little
https://soundcloud.com/iamryanlittle


Comments :

Ram Talks

Ram Talks . 4 years ago

I´ve been waiting for so long to hear a doctor´s sincere opinion about this. Thank you so much, Mike :)

Abdul Qahar

Abdul Qahar . 10 minutes ago

Dr mike: I don’t think we should make this a religious rigorous part of life. Me, a Muslim: Hehe. You sure? 😀

Ronin75

Ronin75 . 14 hours ago

"humans have been fasting for millennia" I think that's called being poor and starving

Kathy Tran

Kathy Tran . 2 days ago

I’m poor so I intermittent fast ✌️

Help _

Help _ . 2 days ago

Hi Help Here, if U don't know about keto foods now would be a very! Good time to try these Healthy recipes instructions: [in my photo, Then "ABOUT" right next to "CHANNELS"] That's it !~ Enjoy~

Mahdiyar Abdollahi

Mahdiyar Abdollahi . 3 days ago

Muslims are fasting from morning to night every day for one month

Trey B

Trey B . 3 days ago

I have lost 40 pounds in just over two months, granted I'm VERY overweight, which is 60 pounds down from my heaviest weight and still have about 65 to go. I eat three solid meals a day of about 450 to 500 calories each, usually a higher lunch than dinner, and then I don't snack in between meals and I fast for 12 hours from dinner to breakfast. But that's easy because I'm asleep for most of it. And I drink a ton of water and never drink anything with Sweetener or sugars anyway. Once or twice a week before this week I'll have a cheat meal so I don't go insane. It's definitely possible to stick to. If you have a hunger headache drink a ton of water to fill your stomach during those few hours between meals. Don't eat every time you have an urge if you're trying to lose weight. Let your body burn the food you ate and then tap into your fat source. But if you feel like you can't handle it have a small snack. Intermittent fasting this way has been surprisingly easy for me and very effective for weight loss.

Ko Andy

Ko Andy . 3 days ago

Eat frequently, or donot skip breakfast at least to activate your metabolism VS Eat less frequently to prevent insulin spike and do IF to boost or restore your metabolism In all my life, i've been told 2 different things could someone clear these up? Ima bit confused :(

Dan Dan

Dan Dan . 5 days ago

Is vegan fasting a thing? I mean people have been doing it too for centuries for religious purposes, there are days before holydays when you eat just vegan food, most I know is 48 days I think before Easter, and every week Wednesdays and Fridays! Of course no one is obligated (except if you're a kid in a religious family xD) but it's healthy to take a break from animal produce! It's like a cleansing period both mental and physical! And if you want to try you can set your own 2-3 days days a week for only vegan food, I think it's much better than holding a strict diet (unless that diet is given to you by a professional!), where you have to be conscious every minute of what you eat! If vegan fasting wasn't a thing, there you go, I reinvented it! xD

emu kiss

emu kiss . 5 days ago

Dr Mike, what about dr Yoshinori Ohsumi and his Nobel prize (autophagy and fasting correlation)? What about 20 years of studies? Dr Jason Fung has no doubts (lead expert in the field of nutrition and fasting).

Riv3rside 69

Riv3rside 69 . 5 days ago

my boss went from 90kg to 70kg doing 1 meal per day.. wanna do the same but food is life🤤

19144troy

19144troy . 6 days ago

I think you need to go one size up on your shirt doc. :)

Donor405

Donor405 . 6 days ago

I used to eat one big meal a day.. and I would eat a few small snacks a day (never really hungry ).. and I was the smallest and healthiest I’ve ever been .. I was 267 and dropped down to 165 , now 2 years later I’m 290 … 290! And the only think I’ve changed was eating more a day and adding more sugar that I’m so addicted too . It’s crazy how hard it’s to stop eating sugar and carbs( all I can think about is what I’m going to put in my mouth next ) .. even tho i know it’s affecting me in so many ways .. But what I’m getting at is I think fasting works and works well , if you don’t get off track .

Ty phus

Ty phus . 6 days ago

1 and a half years ago I was diagnosed with Crohns disease. I was 40 at the time, I weighted 144 kg, due to Crohns I dropped to 82 kg in 5 months. I wasn't able to hold food down and was severe. Spent 2 weeks in the hospital with an IV drip and heavy medication. I then saw an interview with Georges St.Pierre who has colitis and that intermittent fasting helped him stay in remission. I decided to try the 16/8 intermittent fasting as I was still having abdominal pain. Ever since I started intermittent fasting I have been feeling a lot better, I have been maintaining my weight, not gaining or losing weight. It allows my digestive tract time to recover and rest. I was even able to ease off my medication.

TubbySlimArms

TubbySlimArms . 7 days ago

Dr. Mike does NOT skip leg day.

juanito K.O

juanito K.O . 1 week ago

I don't eat breakfast the moment I wake up even if it's my favorite meal. I wait to eat till noon 12 pm.

My Experiences

My Experiences . 2 weeks ago

@ intermittent fasting vs islamic fasting

Patricia A

Patricia A . 2 weeks ago

I used to get really bad digestive symptoms during my period. One month of IF and it completely changed. No bloating and no diarrhea. Apart from weight loss, IF has some real benefits that I can attest to. If you find a routine that's comfortable for you it can become a lifestyle.

Thy-anne

Thy-anne . 2 weeks ago

I'm concerned with your sleeves though☺️😅

24k_ferxxz

24k_ferxxz . 2 weeks ago

im a muslim so i fast anyway i just want to hear what is his opinion

billf4186

billf4186 . 2 weeks ago

Hey Dr Mike - this video is 3 years old. Any updates on longer term effects? Shall we wait until the longer terms effects are known before we lose weight on this proven method or should we just continue being overweight, hypertensive and diabetic? Anxiously awaiting your reply and possible update (from 3 years ago).

Kenseifer Clavano

Kenseifer Clavano . 2 weeks ago

Can I ask you something about intermittent fasting do. My question is, is intermittent fasting encourage height growth? Im 15years is it good for me to do Intermittent fasting? Thanks for the answrer doc 😊

Hasbrogaming//HSBGaming

Hasbrogaming//HSBGaming . 3 weeks ago

Muslims are so used to fasting cause of Ramadan so Intermittent fasting is like second nature ;D

deepak kumar

deepak kumar . 3 weeks ago

I started having acid reflux post doing IF, although i lost weight my acidity remained forever and created havoc in my body. what do you have to say on that

Paola Godinez

Paola Godinez . 3 weeks ago

So eat later on from 5 pm to 11 ? Then don't eat until next day same time?

WarlockwinGG149

WarlockwinGG149 . 4 weeks ago

Only eat in 3:00 in afternoon evryday

charina enchente

charina enchente . 4 weeks ago

hey Dr GENIUS got a NEWS FLASH for ya! When you are in your 50's with a BMI of a TEN year old there ARE no STORED nutrients there's just your MUSCLES BONES PROTEIN ALBUMIN ELECTROLYTES & ORGANS! which I'm SURE having been to MEDICAL SCHOOL you ALREADY knew but of COURSE you're NOT going to SHARE that info with the REST of us

Skymax Slippers

Skymax Slippers . 4 weeks ago

Ok but what's the difference between this and someone with anorexia skipping meals

Qi Huna

Qi Huna . 4 weeks ago

*EACH AND EVERY TIME I FAST....I AM ALWAYS ALWAYS HUNGRY.....ALWAYS!!!!!!*

Bryan Maxwell

Bryan Maxwell . 4 weeks ago

Y’all with herpes virus should reach out to Dr Edozele on YouTube, he has got the permanent cure for herpes simplex virus.

Zach Golez

Zach Golez . 4 weeks ago

IF is also good for the wallet 😂 The less you eat, the less you spend

Cecilia

Cecilia . 4 weeks ago

So you telling me this is not Steve McGarrett from Hawaii Five-O🤔😫🤭

Dawn Hankins

Dawn Hankins . 4 weeks ago

This helped me loose my extra 40lbs and my mom 75lbs. It works way better then I thought it would, my mom was the one to suggest I try it after she lost 20lbs

Sheila bacus

Sheila bacus . 4 weeks ago

From 69kilos to 55kls ❤️❤️❤️

amit gupta

amit gupta . 4 weeks ago

What all can I drink during the 16 hour fasting state

yoshii

yoshii . 4 weeks ago

I’m 12, can I fast?

Gargi Sud

Gargi Sud . 4 weeks ago

We we few Ed’s

Nathalie Wilborts

Nathalie Wilborts . 4 weeks ago

I know this is an older video, but I specifically looked for a Dr Mike video on IF because I have just started doing this, and I just don't trust any other videos/articles on this. I have decided to eat between 1pm and 9pm (works out best at the moment with uni). I never realized I had been doing IF for years, up until 2 years ago. I never ever ate breakfast, apart from on the weekends, until I went onto sick leave 2 years ago and started eating breakfast, so even though I snacked throughout the evening, I still fasted for about 13 hours in total before I ate lunch. But for someone who has ADHD (only learned about the link between ADHD and obesity a few months ago) this is actually ideal because it gives me a routine and it has actually made me less prone to snacking in the evening or when I am bored. Even though in the evening or later in the morning I am hungry, I have started just a few days ago. I am sure the hunger feeling will lessen when doing this for longer. I have already found out that I am less prone to snacking and still make sure I eat enough of the things I need as to not get a deficit. I am curious to see if this will actually help me.

Hogan Dromgool

Hogan Dromgool . 1 month ago

Mike, your gains are too plentiful. You need to now invest in fitted shirts.

Narissa Saunders

Narissa Saunders . 1 month ago

@doctormike how is fasting different than restrictions that people who have eating disorders?

Narissa Saunders

Narissa Saunders . 1 month ago

Please be careful with this, please make sure you are safe doing this because it could be technically disordered eating and could lead to eating disorder. I'm 3 years into my recovery from binge eating disorder and I have a team behind me. Please just be careful...also really liking intermittent fasting.

Shawn

Shawn . 1 month ago

People have been doing IF for thousands of years.

603stunts

603stunts . 1 month ago

I did the fasting snake diet and lost 46 pounds in one month

bex

bex . 1 month ago

Mike, you weigh up the pros and cons beautifully. I was reading a lot about IF and it can get confusing. Great to hear a doc’s opinion. Excellent summary. Thank you.

Robin Thompson

Robin Thompson . 1 month ago

I love the bloopers!!!

Dilip Ramanathan Shivkumar

Dilip Ramanathan Shivkumar . 1 month ago

Totally agreed!!👍👍👍

rebecca xx

rebecca xx . 1 month ago

i eat every 2-3 hours (so 5-6 meals a day) and ive lost 82 kg so far 😋😋

JESSICA WEST 224

JESSICA WEST 224 . 1 month ago

Wao!!! I've also started my Intermittent fasting, I eat once a day! I'm 2days in now, please I need all the support o can 🙏🙏🙏🙏 It's truly not easy 😭😭😭😭, I pray I scale through 🙏. I need all the support guys ☺️

Garrett Shuman

Garrett Shuman . 1 month ago

The Mitochondria is the powerhouse of the cell! IYKYK

Nature Lover

Nature Lover . 1 month ago

Doc we afraid is it causing stomach ulcer, even my gastroenterologist saying thing that's only we afraid.



Report form





Copyright © 2021 VIDIO. All Rights Reserved